MySports Today All Sports all the time
  • Jan

    Jim Rice, Rickey Henderson Elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

    Filed under: MLB, Sports; Tagged as: , , ,

    rickey henderson.jpg

    The Baseball Writers Association of America elected Jim Rice and Rickey Henderson to the Baseball Hall of Fame on Monday. Henderson received 94.8% of the vote to get elected on his first ballot. Rice received 76.4% of the vote to get elected on his 15th and final ballot.

    Henderson is MLB’s all-time runs scored and stolen bases leader. In 25 MLB seasons, Henderson played in 10 All-Star Games and stole 1,406 bases. He owns the modern-day stolen bases in a season record with 130 (in 1982) and he is still the MLB career leader for lead-off home runs with 81. He is a career .279 hitter, with 297 career home runs, 1,115 RBI’s, 2,190 walks and 2,295 runs scored. Henderson won the American League MVP in 1990.

    Rice won the American League MVP in 1978. In 16 MLB seasons with the Boston Red Sox, Rice hit 382 career home runs and played in 8 All-Star Games. He had a career 2.98 batting average with 1,451 RBI’s. During a 3-year stretch from 1977 through 1979, Rice averaged a 3.20 batting average, 41 home runs and 128 RBI’s. Rice becomes the 3rd player to be voted into the Baseball Hall of Fame on his final ballot – Red Ruffing did so in 1967 and Ralph Kiner did so in 1975.

    Other vote results include: Andrew Dawson with 67% of the vote; Bert Blyleven with 62.7% of the vote; Lee Smith with 44.5% of the vote and Jack Morris with 44% of the vote. Mark McGwire continues to face voting struggles with baseball writers. McGwire received only 118 votes, good for 21.9% of the vote – this is down from the 128 votes that he received in each of his first 2 years on the ballot.

    jim rice.jpg

    No Comments

Leave a reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.